top of page
Writer's pictureJulie Brennan

Sin

In my reading today, I couldn't help but dwell on a message that really stirred my heart.


Many of you have known me for a long time. I was a different person 10+ years ago. It's a long story I would love to tell you over coffee sometime, but for now just know that my prayer warriors are rejoicing knowing my heart is now right with the Lord.


It wasn't anything they said. It wasn't something they did. It was through their prayers, interceding for me in the throne room and the conviction of the Holy Spirit that touched my heart and brought me home.


I was full of pride (sin) and selfishness (sin). My eyes were blind to see the truth and my heart was too hardened to feel God's presence, but He was there. Waiting for me to invite Him into my life once again.


I was a good person. I love to make people laugh. I love to do things for others. I enjoyed fellowship with people. None of these things were for Jesus. It was all for my selfish pleasure.


When I was younger, I believed God was real. I believed what I was told. I didn't have a foundation of the Word to stand on. I didn't have the relationship I should have had with Jesus. My belief was based on religion. Not relationship. At some point, my perspective changed and I started to believed the people I hung out with and agreed with them that God wasn't real. 😳


Too often people want to hide the sin (anything that disconnects us from God) and only focus on the love He wants to give us.


However, if we don't reveal our sin, what would salvation be without forgiveness? What would Jesus be saving us from if it wasn't our sin?


John 1:29
John 1:29

🕊️ Behold the Lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world. John 1:29


Many people are unwilling to acknowledge the issue of sin in their lives. They make excuses for their sins. I know I did. You might even admit you sin but you would never call yourself a sinner. I'M STILL A SINNER!


Recognizing your sins is a personal conviction from the Holy Spirit and forgiveness can only come from Jesus Christ, your Lord and Savior.


I'm so thankful, grateful, and blessed that I'm in a place today that is full of light and truth. It's a never-ending journey. It's a constant struggle to battle against sin and the temptations of this world, but hang on friends, the rewards are greater than you could ever imagine.


Get in the Word. Find out for yourself what you need in your life. Develop a personal relationship with Jesus. He's waiting for you to just call out His name. 😘


You'll know when you're on the right path because everything will be different. Your hunger will pivot from fleshly desires (sex, alcohol, money, food, success) to pleasing Jesus. People will see you in a different way because you will be different.


Once you realize you are no longer living life for yourself, get water baptized!


Water baptism does not save in itself. It is a symbol or figure. First Peter 3:21 (NIV) puts it this way: “And this water symbolizes baptism that now saves you also — not the removal of dirt from the body but the pledge of a good conscience toward God. It saves you by the resurrection of Jesus Christ.”


It symbolizes the initial baptism, which is spiritual, being baptized into the body of Christ: “For as many of you as were baptized into Christ have put on Christ” (Galatians 3:27, NKJV; see 1 Corinthians 12:13).


Galatians 3:27
Galatians 3:27

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page